FIFA Council to select Women’s World Cup 2023 host(s) in June

The FIFA Council announced on Friday that they will announce the next host(s) for the 2023 edition of the Women’s World Cup online on June 25.

It has 314 days since the United States women’s national team defeated the Netherlands 2-0 at the Parc Olympique Lyonnais in Décines-Charpieu. Due to COVID-19, football fans have been anxiously waiting for the return. However, as league play starts to come back, FIFA delivered some good news to fans, especially those who hope their country hosts the tournament.

The bids for the tournament include a joint submission by the Football Federation Australia and New Zealand Football, Brazilian Football Association, Colombian Football Association, and Japan Football Association. This race is the most competitive bidding process in the history of the Women’s World Cup.

Australia and New Zealand, ranked seventh and 23rd in the FIFA World Rankings, have never hosted the tournament in either the men’s or women’s edition of the World Cup. The Matildas advanced to the knockout stages, led by superstar Sam Kerr, before falling to Norway in penalties during the Round of 16. However, the Football Ferns finished dead last in their group, losing all three games in the process.

Brazil has hosted several World Cups, including in 2014, for the men, but never for the women. All-time great Marta, in a message after their loss to host France in the Round of 16, insisted that “the women’s game depends on you to survive.” The honor of hosting would be great for the future of the game for the women in the South American country.

Colombia, ranked 25th in the world, was not a part of the last edition of the Women’s World Cup. However, they are looking to make it for the first time since 2015, where they fell in the Round of 16 in Canada. The best way to qualify is to get an automatic bid as a host.

As the 2015 World Cup champions, Japan is hoping to add hosts as another one of its achievements in women’s football. The country hosted the 2002 edition of the Men’s World Cup with South Korea but is hoping to host its first with the women’s side. 

The 2023 edition will be the first one to feature 32 teams, so it is a great honor for whichever nation(s) get the host the biggest tournament in the world’s most popular sport.

One thought on “FIFA Council to select Women’s World Cup 2023 host(s) in June”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.