Following the recent Merseyside Derby at the weekend between Liverpool and Everton at Anfield, a match won by Everton, the debate raged around the penalty conceded by Liverpool, who were already 1-0 down at this time
A ball was threaded through the Liverpool defence and Dominic Calvert-Lewin looked a good bet to score….
A decisive tackle by Trent Alexander-Arnold appeared to put the Everton striker off his stride.
This resulted in Calvert-Lewin falling into the back of Alexander- Arnold then being carried over the England right back’s head and shoulders before apparently being tripped by his right leg. This caused the Everton striker to fall to the ground and appeal for a penalty.
The appeal went to VAR, which has been the target of many critics this season.
The match referee spent a few moments reviewing the incident, before awarding Everton a penalty, which they subsequently scored with the last kick of the match to win the game 2-0
The penalty has been the subject of fierce debate since and featured on SkySports Football show in the ‘Ask The Ref Segment’ featuring Dermot Gallagher.
Unsurprisingly, Gallagher as so often is the case with him, sided with the referees judgment and viewed it as a penalty.
It could be argued, however, that Alexander-Arnold in moving to intercept the tackle, could be considered a tad unlucky because his initial movement as seen in the video below did not make contact with Calvert-Lewin.
But as Calvert-Lewin hit his back, this caused the defender to bend forward, which resulted in his right leg going upwards and catching the forward
Was it a penalty?
The referee thought so….
Jurgen Klopp obviously did not…..
Public and Pundit reaction is mixed, but I certainly think Alexander Arnold was harshly penalised.
What are your views? Feel free to provide them in the comments below…..